Monday, June 8, 2009

Mailbox Monday

is hosted by Marcia of The Printed Page

I was lax and never posted my mailbox last week but this week I've received:

Viva Cisco by Patrick Shannon (received from Bostick Communications) is a delightful new book in the tradition of Alice in Wonderland, Winnie the Pooh, The Wind in the Willows, and the stories of Uncle Remus-a book that offers plenty of wholesome fun for youngsters in that "in between" age of 10 to 13. Viva Cisco is a trilogy of funny stories, with humor "cool" enough to appeal, and tales that read as if they were animated films, a winning combination for the tweener set. Parents will appreciate the subtle yet unmistakable message that urges a population of infinite variety to get along with My 10 year old daughter is going to read and help me review this one. I figure her review is more meaningful than mine.

Also from Bostick Communications comes A Deadly Habit. My review is here.

And from Bookmooch came three books in the Heavenly Daze series: Grace in Autumn, A Warmth in Winter and A Perfect Love.

And then two books for FIRST WildCard tours: What the Bayou Saw will be toured on 11 July:
The past can't stay buried forever Rising author Patti Lacy's second novel exposes the life of Sally, set amid the shadows of prejudice in Louisiana. Since leaving her home in the South, Sally Stevens has held the secrets of her past at bay, smothering them in a sunny disposition and sugar-coated lies. No one, not even her husband, has heard the truth about her childhood.
But when one of her students is violently raped, Sally's memories quickly bubble to the surface unbidden, like a dead body in a bayou. As Sally's story comes to light, the lies she's told begin to catch up with her. And as her web of deceit unravels, she resolves to face the truth at last, whatever the consequences.

and Morningsong on 18 July.
The highly-anticipated follow-up to the Christy Award-winning Hallie's Heart.
After her terrifying accident on the shores of Lake Michigan, Mona Vander Molen is trying to pick up the pieces of her life. Mona's brain injury has limited her physically and the doctor's uncertain prognosis isn't helping her feel any better. As she faces the threat of permanent disability, Mona also struggles to make sense of her relationship with the kindly carpenter Adam Dean. And then Hallie appears again, needing Mona's help. Can Mona resolve her doubts about her relationships, face her uncertain future, and help her sister—all at the same time?


1 comment:

Mary said...

You've got some good books to look forward to reading!